12 Great Literary Beginnings

Can you recognize them?

 

1. “Call me Ishmael.”

 

2. “There was no possibility of taking a walk that day.”

 

3. “Sing, goddess, the anger of Peleus’ son Achilleus and its devastation, which put pains thousandfold upon the Achaians, hurled in their multitudes to the house of Hades strong souls of heroes, but gave their bodies to be the delicate feasting of dogs, of all birds, and the will of Zeus was accomplished since that time when first there stood in division of conflict Atreus’ son the lord of all men and brilliant Achilleus.”

 

4. “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man of good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”

 

5. “Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.”

 

6. “Under certain circumstances there are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea.”

 

 

7. “I am a sick man… I am a spiteful man. I am an unattractive man. I think my liver is diseased.”

 

8. “It was in Warwick Castle that I came across the curious stranger whom I am going to talk about.”

 

9. “Great are you, O Lord, and worthy to be praised: great is your power and your wisdom is limitless. And man, who is a part of your creation, desires to praise you, man who bears within himself his mortality, who bears within himself testimony to his sin and testimony that you resist the proud. Yet man, this part of your creation, desires to praise you. You arouse him to find joy in praising you, for you have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.”

10. “In the middle of the journey of life, I came to myself in a dark wood, for the straight way was lost.”

 

11. “Scarlett O’Hara was not beautiful, but men seldom realized it when caught by her charm as the Tarleton twins were.”

 

 

12. “Who’s there?”

Leave a Reply

